Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

IM IN UR GUGGLE, BRAKIN UR INTERNETZ

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on July 8, 2007

Well, my passion for mapping has finally done it. I broke Google Maps. This is why I can’t have nice things.

So, as discussed previously (1,2,3,4), my wife and I took a trip around the Southwest last year. Fast forward several months — Google Maps introduces all manner of kickass customization. Because I have some sort of cartographic OCD, I decided to use the new features to completely retrace the roadtrip, including all of the little diversions. It was going to be pretty sweet, and it was coming along nicely until Day 6, as I tried to retrace our day in the depths of Los Angeles.

I’d just gotten done chronicling our visit to the beach, and was about to fill in the last leg of our route back to San Diego. I added Oceanside, CA, as the next destination (that’s where we slept that night)…

But alas, the Google-approved route to Oceanside was simply to head down the freeway. Being leisurely types, we’d driven along the Pacific Coast Highway instead. So, I tried to reflect this on the map. That’s when disaster struck.

Ack! My map was broken! Nothing I tried could fix it, short of deleting some of my interim stops… but that would defeat the purpose! My dreams of sharing my map mania with the world were crushed. Apparently, even the Google has its limits. According to Laurie, the limit in this case might be some kind of cap on URL length (I’d gotten up to 2,033 characters). I’m not sure why a URL character limit is necessary, but there you go. Bear that in mind the next time you want to chronicle a week-long road trip. What, you don’t do that? Weirdo.

Anyway, here’s as far as I got.

One Response to “IM IN UR GUGGLE, BRAKIN UR INTERNETZ”

  1. anonymous said

    Could you be a bigger nerd? The answer is no, definitely not. Nerd.

Leave a Reply

 
