Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Consumption braindump

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on March 8, 2007

The Queen: I finally saw it on Monday, and it’s a quality flick. I came out of it feeling rather sympathetic towards the ol’ QEII, which was quite surprising. I pretty much agree with her stance (well, her stance in the movie, anyway) on grief; i.e., it’s really odd that people were so worked up about the death of Princess Diana, a woman they never knew. At this point, I should note that I’ve visited the Princess Di memorial in Hyde Park, and rarely have I seen a less moving memorial. So perhaps I’m just totally out of touch on this topic. Also, whoever worked on this film really hates Cherie Blair.

Wedding Crashers: Terrible. I got bored after 20 minutes, having not laughed at all. How many times can Vince Vaughn play the same character and get away with it? I mean, it was fun in Swingers, but that was over 10 years ago! After 20 minutes, this movie was back in an envelope on its way to Netflix.

Friday Night Lights (TV, movie, and book): The television show is excellent, though not closely related to the movie or book. The book is perhaps the best I’ve read in a couple of years. True story. It blew me away. I think what amazed me about it was its richness; each member of the Permian team has his own little story, and you become engaged with everyone, even the opposing teams. Fantastic. The movie, unfortunately, doesn’t hold a candle to the book. Billy Bob Thornton is good, but the movie is way too sappy. The book is a far more honest portrayal of the football fanaticism of West Texans, and it excels as a result.

30 Rock: Rarely has a TV show so thoroughly exceeded my expectations. Who knew that Alec Baldwin was a comic genius? Not me. Watch it!

Top Design: Highly questionable. I want to like this show, but it’s missing a crucial component; there’s no Tim Gunn. Todd Oldham is a poor substitute, and the producers don’t really show enough of him anyway. I’m not predicting a second season for this show.

This American Life” podcasts: Download ’em. That’s all I can say. Not only are they excellent, but you can also revel in your urban liberalism while listening. It’s a twofer!

That is all.

Leave a Reply

 
