Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Spitzah!

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on August 8, 2006

I don’t know who this “Eliot Spitzer” character is, but it really sounds like I don’t want to get on his bad side. Perhaps Jeff Greenberg et al. should have thought the same before pursuing this line of argument:

But when Spitzer and his lawyers met with Marsh & McLennan’s general counsel, William Rosoff, on October 12, they didn’t get the mea culpa they had expected. Instead, they got the brush-off. Rosoff insisted that his company didn’t understand what all the fuss was about. It wasn’t really clear what had happened. No clients had been hurt by the arrangements. This was just the way things worked. And finally he said dismissively, “You just don’t understand the insurance business.”

I know a lot of people who got burned on MMC stock. I imagine they’ll be thrilled to read that passage. Sense of entitlement at its best.

I’d certainly like to see Eliot target the car rental companies. You know these bastards charge extra just because you live in an outer-borough? Hertz tried to charge me 35$ extra per day for being from Brooklyn, even though I was renting the car in Stamford, CT! I managed to avoid the charge, but I certainly will not be doing business there again. Further research revealed that Dollar Rent-a-car charges 77$ extra! Brooklynites, please take your business to Avis or Budget, where they do not have these ridiculous (and quite possibly illegal) surcharge policies. And Hertz, I hope you’re happy — I’ll be going to Budget for my 8 day road-trip rental in a couple of weeks. I’m even getting an SUV (a small one!) for national park exploration, at extra cost. But hey, at least you won’t have a smelly Brooklynite driving one of your shitty rental cars!

Leave a Reply

 
