Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Southwest

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on July 1, 2006

I am planning a roadtrip to the Southwest. The plan is to fly into San Diego, drive around in a loop for a week, and fly back out of SAN. Other than that, things are pretty open-ended. I’ve got a rough list of things to see, though:

That’s the list right now. I’m very much open to suggestions, especially since it’s a little heavy on outdoor/scenic/desert-y kind of stuff at the moment. Anything off the beaten track that I should check out? Let me know in the comments.

ETA: I should be clear, nothing on this list (other than the Grand Canyon) is mandatory. If something sucks, definitely let me know. I mostly chose these sights based on what looked really cool in Flickr, and some word of mouth, and in the case of Chaco Canyon, an obsession I obtained reading Collapse. So anyway. Lots of suggestions please!

2 Responses to “Southwest”

  1. Max said

    Taos, NM is really nice, though a bit of a drive. If there’s a festival going on there when you’re traveling, it might be worth it.

  2. Goldtoe said

    I highly recommend the Painted Desert/Petrified Forest in Western Arizona. It’s pretty sweet.

Leave a Reply

 
