Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

GUILTY

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on April 26, 2006

Our friend Bas is guilty. As expected, the UNC has basically imploded, with half the MPs supporting the sycophantic Kamla Persad-Bissessar, and the majority of the other half supporting the weak-willed Winston Dookeran. It’s a sad state of affairs, as it means that Trinidad continues to lack a real opposition. I imagine that Manning will call an election very soon, as he’s not likely to ever have a more fertile political environment than this.

As for the Silver Fox himself, I must say that the charges against him seem quite tame. It’s not that I don’t think he was horribly corrupt, it’s just that 150,000 pounds really isn’t that much cash. I wouldn’t mind having it in my bank account, but it’s not like you’re going to be retiring to your South Kensington townhouse with that, you know? Anyway, my point is that while I don’t doubt the verdict, I do think that the sentence will be knocked down on appeal. (Also, convicting someone on three counts of lying when each incident related to the same account seems unfair.) I do think, however, that we’ve seen the last of Bas (especially considering that much worse bribery charges are still pending), and that’s definitely a good thing — new blood and all that. I only hope that someone gets their act together enough to keep the PNM honest, because otherwise we’re in a lot of trouble.

Leave a Reply

 
