Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Oh, and…

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on September 14, 2005

Congrats to Mary on last night’s results (though the news reports all seem to focus on some guy called Scott.)

Speaking of which, I really don’t know what to do in this year’s mayoral race. On the one hand, we have a Democratic nominee who is a profoundly uninspiring party hack, and whose ideas are… well. mostly just bad/impractical. Like the stock trading tax? Seriously? Wouldn’t everyone just move to Jersey City? I mean, I’m all for taxes and everything, but I really don’t want to have to take the PATH to work every morning. His housing plan is “build more houses”. Not that the housing plans from the other Dems (whose tax plans were “bring back the commuter tax,” which, while a great idea, isn’t something the mayor can do) were any better.

On the other hand, we’ve got a fairly decent incumbent. Bloomberg might not be perfect (I’m not happy about his love of stadia, but the worst of that has passed, thankfully) but he managed the city’s economy quite well. He’s tried somewhat on housing. He even passed the smoking ban, which is my legislative guilty pleasure. But…. BUT. He supported Bush. I cannot abide Bush support, especially not from a mayor who heads a city that is a major terrorist target. I realize that his Bush support is more a formality than a relfection of actual politics, but still. If I think Ed Koch is dead to me for the Bushiness, I can’t very well let Bloomy off the hook either.

Not that any of this matters, since I am taxed without representation. If I weren’t, though, I’d be really tempted to sit this one out.

Leave a Reply

 
