Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Of Mexicans and Racists and Ashcroft and Ridge

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on November 15, 2003

Julian’s got a great article in Reason about why Lou Dobbs is an idiot, which is followed up by his put down of a racist who sent him quite a nice note on where Latinos need to go.

I’ve been having a hard time with the government’s insistence on treating me like a potential terrorist, and I keep trying to convince myself that most Americans don’t actually feel like the letter writer Julian posts about. I also have to put out of my mind all the other nonsense I have to put up with just to stay here so that I can pay a third of my income to this government that doesn’t care about me. I know a few other educated professional non-citizens who are struggling with the same issues. Americans seem to think that people only come here because we lack options, but for many of us, that’s simply not true. The immigrants with the most skills can go to Canada, the UK, Europe, or even home, and the United States needs to realize (and will hopefully learn soon) that if it wants to continue being the repository for the world’s most talented, it better stop treating people like dirt.

I understand the need for security, and I understand that people were frightened by what happened on September 11th. I was just as scared. The problem is that while I am expected to bear all these extra inconveniences for the sake of security, the DHS is making no effort to assure me that as someone who pays his taxes, obeys the law and keeps his status updated, I won’t be the next to be targeted. It’s immensely frustrating.

I’m not moving yet, but as I’ve explained to friends, London, Toronto and Port Of Spain keep gaining on NYC as a place I want to live everyday.

Leave a Reply

 
