Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Boycott

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on July 25, 2003

Pat has posted his thoughts on the RIAA’s lawsuit against numerous Kazaa users. I was metioning to Laurie just the other day how unbelievably short-sighted the record industry has been on the piracy issue. If, when Napster started gaining moderate popularity, the record companies had gone the iTunes route (but with a halfway decent catalog), I suspect that most people would have gone along with it and paid for digital music that way. Instead, they attempted to kill off the digital music movement entirely, fighting Napster, Rio, Audiogalaxy, Morpheus, Princeton sophomores, and now, Kazaa users. They’ve generated a HUGE amount of awareness of these services through these actions and congressional hearings, and their popularity has skyrocketed as a result. What a bunch of morons.

Anyway, my point was that I do not intend to buy another CD ever again. Granted, I rarely purchased CDs for myself as it was, but I’d do it occasionally, and I bought them as gifts with some regularity. No more. I encourage everyone else to do the same (come on, it’s not like you really wanted to pay $20 for the privilege of hearing Britney Spears tell us about her diary anyway).

Leave a Reply

 
