Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Workers from abroad, Voters from abroad

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on June 25, 2003

It appears that we’ve finally expanded free labour movement within the Caribbean, but of course, the UNC is unhappy. Wade “Ethinc Cleansing” Mark points out that in his opinion, “citizens of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago must come first, Caricom citizens after.” Apparently, putting Trinidadians first means withdrawing from an agreement that opens up job opportunities for OUR CITIZENS in other islands. It means limiting our economic capacity to the skills available in one country instead of those available in many.

On an entirely unrelated topic, I was talking to my girlfriend last night about her plans to change her voter registration from New Jersey to New York. This brought up the topic of my voting record, which is presently empty due to my being abroad during every election that’s happened since I turned 18, and due to our lack of absentee balloting. My point is, why don’t we have absentee balloting in Trinidad? I’m here on a non-immigrant visa, and I still hold a Trinidadian passport, and soon I will be a landowner in Trinidad. Moreover, it’s not like I’m alone… many young Trinidadians study and work abroad temporarily. We should be able to make our consulates somewhat useful and use them to exercise our civic duties.

Leave a Reply

 
