Club Soda and Salt

No more stains

Absentee landowners better walk with printer

Posted by clubsodaandsalt on December 8, 2008

I’ve complained about the ridiculous attitude of Trinidadian banks towards online banking before, so I was a bit skeptical when I saw this ad in the Express:

So, Republic is not explicitly targeting the diaspora? Surely that means that they have proper online banking now, right?

Nope.

They still want you to print out a form and walk it into a branch (you can’t even fax it, not that that would be acceptable anyway). Not sure how that helps those of us in the US buy property back home, but hey – why bother to have a marketing strategy that is aligned with the reality of your crap customer service?

Trinidad really is a deeply unserious place.

One Response to “Absentee landowners better walk with printer”

  1. splitsun said

    *tries to shake the feeling of budding disgust.

    I had an incident with Republic recently, (having done the print out, submitted the form (in person), and received my online access) I simply tried to send money from my bank acct to a third party republic bank account. I was told online that I would need to request a republic id to make such transactions…and collect the id at my nearest bank! I gritted my teeth, swore at the whole irony of “online banking” and emailed a representative, stating my case of being abroad and my haste in needing to complete said transaction.

    In the end, I sent a friend (whom I identified in the email would be collecting it and was also the person to receive the money) who was told by an employee that I would need to mail..physically…a letter stating that he was authorised to pick up the id. So vexingly backward.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

